Junge Memorial Award
1. Preface

Professor Christian Junge (1912-1996) made many valuable contributions to atmospheric research. Among them is his first realization in 1952 of the continuous size distribution of atmospheric aerosols, and the first direct observation (1961) of the stratospheric aerosol layer - often called the "Junge layer" today. His book (1963) "Atmospheric Chemistry and Radioactivity" gave the name to a new research field, so important to our understanding of the environment today. The award program is intended as a continuing recognition of the contribution of Professor Christian Junge to the international scientific community, as well as a means of encouraging similar efforts and scientific imagination among contemporary scientists when conducting aerosol research.

2. Award

A. The Junge award is intended to recognize the outstanding research contributions of an individual, who has shaped a completely new field of aerosol science and/or technology, as Junge did for Atmospheric Chemistry.

B. Preference therefore should be given to a senior individual, in recognition of his complete scientific life.

C. The award consists of a certificate, a citation, free registration for the awarding EAA-conference, and the award dinner.

D. The award will be presented, whenever appropriate, during the European Aerosol Conference.

3. Nomination

A. Nominations of candidates for the award are invited by public announcement and by letters to individuals and institutions whose interests are related to aerosol research. Any member of an European Aerosol Assembly member organization may submit a nomination.

B. Nomination is made by a full letter of justification, including a curriculum vitae and bibliography. At least three supporting letters are to be included in the nomination. Members of the selection committee are prohibited from writing reference letters for the candidates. The nominator is responsible for preparing the complete dossier for submission.

C. The award can be given to living or deceased colleagues although at the time of nomination candidates must be living.

4. Selection

The award committee will be composed of two representatives from each European Aerosol Assembly member Society, nominated to serve for three year terms by the President of each Society, with the possibility of renewal for one further term.


The Committee elects one of its members as Chair by a process of nomination of candidates, solicited by the outgoing Chair, and the casting of one vote per Society. The outgoing Chair may serve on the Committee for a further term to maintain continuity.


The Chair receives and circulates details of nominated candidates to Committee members. Each Society may cast one vote for one of the nominated candidates, or may abstain. The Chair may make a casting vote in the event of a tie in votes from the Societies.


The Committee may decide not to confer an award in a particular year.

Nominations should be sent to the current Chair of the award committee, to arrive before a deadline of March 31st :

Prof Ian Ford, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University College London, Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT, UK.
E-mail: i.ford@ucl.ac.uk

Winners of the Junge Award


Sheldon Friedlander


Heinz Fissan


Othmar Preining


Alex Lushnikov