The "Smoluchowski award" shall be granted to an outstanding young scientist in the fields of more technical aerosol science and is thus comparable to the Schmauss award, which will be limited to scientists from atmospheric aerosol science field.

Regulations and Procedures

1. Award

(a) The Smoluchowski Award, named after the physicist Marian Smoluchowski (1872-1917), is intended to recognize significant research contribution to aerosol science.

(b) The award shall be given to a young researcher (as a rule under 40 years of age) who has achieved and published new results in aerosol science in the preceding 3 years. It may be shared by two individuals judged to be equally meritorious.

(c) The award will be conferred by the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung (GAeF) during the annual European Aerosol Conference.


2. The Award Committee

(a) The award committee is composed of at least four member of the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung (GAeF). The actual number is decided by the board of GAeF. The members of the committee are elected by the GAeF board for a period of 3 years, with one possible prolongation. The award committee elects a chairman, the election is led by the past chairman. In case of impediment the president of GAeF leads the election. The past chairman is a member of the Smoluchowski Award Committee ex officio.

(b) The names of the members of the award committee are listed on the GAeF web page.

3. Nominations

(a) The Smoluchowski Award Committee of GAeF invites nominations of candidates from members of GAeF and other scientists working in the field of aerosol science according to the regulations issued by the Smoluchowski Award Committee and prosted at the home page of GAeF and by public announcement in the Journal of Aerosol Science and/or other scientific publications.

(b) Nominations should be sent before 1 May of each year to the chairman of the Smoluchowski Award Committee. Researchers in all areas of aerosol science are eligible and may be nominated by any other scientists.

(c) Nomination is made by a full letter of justification including a curriculum vitae and a bibliography. The letter should include at least one specific reference to an outstanding work of the nominee.

(d) The nominee need not be a member of the aerosol organizations.

(e) Nominations may be carried over to the following award by a renomination letter.

4. Selection

(a) The committee will review all nominations in closed session. After a discussion of the candidates the Smoluchowski Award Committee votes on the candidates. The voting procedures are decided by the Smoluchowski Award Committee. If the award committee discusses a candidate coming from the institution of one of the members of the committee, this member neither is allowed to speak about this candidate, nor to vote.

(b) A copy of the minutes of the session is sent to the secretary general of GAeF.

(c) The award committee has the discretionary power to not select an awardee in any given period.

(d) The annual award consists of a certification and a donation of 2.000 €. Please, send your nominations to the chair of the award committee before May 1. The name(s) and achievements of the awardee(s) will be published in the Journal of Aerosol Science.

Chair of the Award Committee:

Prof. Dr. Alfred P. Weber

Technische Universität Clausthal
Institut für Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik

Leibnizstr. 19
38678 Clausthal-Zellerfeld
Tel: +49-5323-72-3860
Fax: +49-5323-72-2830

Members of the Award Committee:

Dr. Jean-Pascal Borra

CNRS université Paris Sud
Laboratoire de Physique des Gazes et des Plasmas
Centrale Supelec, 3 Rue Joliot Curie
91192 Gif sur Yvette
TEL: +33 1-69 15 36 74
FAX: +33 1-69 85 17 99
email: jp.borra[at]

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Einar Kruis

Universität Duisburg-Essen
Bismarckstr. 81
47057 Duisburg
TEL: +49-203-379-2899
FAX: +49-203-379-3268
email: einar.kruis[at]

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Kasper

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Straße am Forum 8
76131 Karlsruhe

TEL: +49-721-608-46561
FAX: +49-721-608-46563
email: gerhard.kasper[at]


Winners of the Smoluchowski Award

1986 Paul E. Wagner
1987 Helmut Bunz
1988 Andreas Schmidt-Ott
1989 Leon Gradon
1990 Richard C. Flagan
1991 Reinhard Niessner
1992 David Y. H. Pui + Andrey V. Filippov
1993 Vladek. Szymanski
1994 Heinz Burtscher + Wolfgang Möller
1995 Sotiris E. Pratsinis + Michael Shapiro
1996 Sergey Grinshpun
1997 Markku Kulmala
1998 K. A. Prather + Alfonso M. Gañán-Calvo
1999 Ian J. Ford
2000 Einar Kruis
2001 Alfred P. Weber + D.A. Edwards
2002 Da-Ren Chen
2003 Ignacio González Loscertales
2004 Colin O`Dowd
2005 Lutz Mädler

Jean-Pascal Borra

2007 Veli-Matti Kerminen
2008 Markus Kalberer + Thomas Koop
2009 Suwan Jayasinghe
2010 Wendelin J. Stark + Martin Seipenbusch
2011 Albert G. Nasibulin + Jing Wang

no winner


James D. Allan + Christopher J. Hogan Jr. + Maosheng Yao


Ilona Riipinen


Andreas Kürten


Alexandra Teleki


Mikael Kristian Ehn + Mikko Juhani Sipilä

2018 Jinkun Jiang